Michael Knott | Fluid

Fluid is the “lost” Knott solo album that almost didn’t get released. It was originally recorded for Knott’s Siren Records, but that record label folded before it could be released. Fluid was finally released in 1996. It is also one of many “rock operas” that Michael has created. The story told on this album is about a girl that gets mad at her boyfriend and crashes his Cadillac (this part was a true story about bass player Brian Doidge). God and Satan then battle for her soul as she lays dying in the hospital. Michael said that he was inspired by Echo & the Bunnymen at this time, so he experimented with a lot of feedback on this album.

When reminiscing about the work of Doug Doyle on the record, Knott shared this bit of information: “Years Later, Doug was mastering music and mastered my Fluid Record. I ask him if he could come up with a cool reprise on a song, and he smiled really big! So after I heard what Doug did with the reprise of “The Sky,” I asked him if he could do something like that near the tail of the original, and he thought for a few seconds, kinda laughed and said “Ya. I can do that!” Doug asked me if its OK to put secret messages on my CD. I said yes!”

Michael Knott - Fluid - Cover 1 Michael Knott - Fluid - Cover 2 Michael Knott - Fluid - Cover 3 Michael Knott - Fluid - Tray

Label: Alarmal Records
Format: CD, Cassette
Recorded: 1993
Released: 1996
Genre: Alternative Rock
Producer: Michael Knott
Michael Knott: Guitars, Vocals, Art Direction and Layout
Brian Doidge: Bass
Chuck Cummings: Drums
Andrew Carter: Guitar Solos on “Crash,” “Over,” “Stars,” “The Sky”
Bridget Alford: Vocals on “The Sky,” taken from her original composition
01) Crash 4:09 Knott  
02) Cool 4:37 Knott  
03) Over 3:45 Knott  
04) Stars 4:38 Knott, Cummings, Howard Knott  
05) Drive 2:43 Knott, Doidge  
06) Tonight 1:53 Knott Reworked as “Jesus” on Aunt Bettys
07) Away 3:30 Knott  
08) Somewhere 2:27 Knott  
09) Thru 4:19 Knott  
10) The Sky 5:04 Knott, Alford  
11) Untitled 3:31 Knott  

Older comments on “Michael Knott – Fluid”

  1. Cliffy on November 10, 2008 at 05:11 am said:

    I believe this album was actually recorded in ’94, but I don’t know if it was recorded before or after Rocket And A Bomb. Any way to find out?

  2. Jill on October 07, 2010 at 01:52 pm said:

    I love this album. I heard it for the first time in 1996 when was first released. It is an album that was very well done, and at least for me it’s timeless.

  3. Gabriel “Skuzzy” Zolman on April 17, 2011 at 05:47 pm said:

    I’m a music journalist, and have been following Mike’s career for years. Though frequently listed as following “A Rocket

  4. Knotthead Matt on April 17, 2011 at 05:49 pm said:

    Gabriel – I am so sorry, but it seems your comment got cut-off. Would love to hear what you had to say. These comments are handmade by me and full of glitches. Seems that they don’t like the ‘and’ symbol. Sorry about that.

  5. Bill Moore on June 27, 2011 at 08:52 am said:

    SOOOOO Amazing

  6. Brandon on July 28, 2011 at 01:08 pm said:

    The CD copy I have has an 11th track that’s not listed.

  7. analog_brain on May 12, 2015 at 09:14 am said:

    This is one of Knott’s records that has grown on me over time. So many good songs. Great concept record. Knott can do no wrong, musically speaking.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *